Log in

Member Login



The Francis "Bud" Barnes Outstanding Legislator Award is sponsored by the Legislative Committee and is given annually to a Missouri legislator in recognition of exceptional contributions to the welfare of Missouri's libraries. The award is named in honor of State Representative Francis (Bud) Barnes (District 96) whose long devotion to Missouri libraries and whose contributions to library-related legislation are gratefully acknowledged. The Legislative Committee, along with the MLA Legislative Advocate and the Missouri State Librarian meet every summer. During that meeting those assembled discuss whether a legislator or legislators distinguished themselves in an exceptional way that would merit the award. If the committee determines that no one has significantly distinguished him or herself, the committee may choose not to make the award for that year. The MLA Legislative Advocate provides the plaque for the Award. The award winner is always invited to the annual awards banquet. However, it is more likely that the award will be presented in Jefferson City at the following Library Advocacy Day. 


2019 - Representative Cody Smith

2016 - Rep. Justin Alferman; Sen. David Pearce

2014 - Rep John McCaherty; Sen. Jolie Justus

2013 - Sen. Maria Chappelle-Nadal, District 14; Sen. Brian Munzlinger, District 18

2011 - Jacob Hummel, House District 108


Follow us on social media:

State Partner for Missouri

MLA is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

1190 Meramec Station Rd. Ste 207

Ballwin, MO 63021

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software