Log in

Member Login



The Ronald G. Bohley Scholarship is awarded to an individual who has demonstrated high scholastic achievement, a commitment to professionalism and library cooperation, a desire to provide quality service to library patrons, and promise toward contributing to Missouri libraries. The Scholarship is awarded to an individual who is currently accepted into or attending an ALA-accredited MLS/MLIS program. 

Ronald G. Bohley was the director of the Curtis Law Wilson Library at the University of Missouri-Rolla from 1976-1991. He was an active member of MLA and served as the MLA president (1989-1990), on the Legislative committee, and many other committees during his career. He also served on numerous Missouri state library boards, groups, and networks. The Bohley scholarship was created to recognize his passion and commitment to Missouri libraries after his tragic passing in 1991 from a fatal car crash. The scholarship began in 1995 and has continued to promote and support library cooperation throughout the state. 

The Bohley Scholarship is sponsored and selected by the Professionalism, Education, Employment, and Recruitment Community of Interest (PEER CI) in conjunction with the Awards Committee. The scholarship is funded up to $2000 annually, but can vary by year. 


  1. Applicants must have achieved a 3.0 (A=4.0) grade point average or higher as an undergraduate unless there is an established graduate record.
  2. Applicants must be accepted or currently enrolled in an ALA-accredited program for a minimum of three hours of credit in pursuit of a master's degree in Library Science and/or Information Science. 
  3. Preference will be given to those applicants currently employed in a Missouri library or working toward their degree in a Missouri program.
  4. Applicants with no Missouri affiliation (either through Missouri residency, attendance at a Missouri school, or employment in a Missouri library) will not be considered for the Bohley Scholarship. 
  5. The award cannot be given in consecutive years to the same individual.
  6. Applicants must submit:
      • A completed application form.
      • Three letters of reference.
      • A written statement of purpose.
      • Proof of acceptance to or enrollment in an ALA-accredited program.
      • A copy of the most recent transcript (where applicable). Unofficial transcripts are acceptable. Letters and transcripts may be included in the application packet or sent directly to the email or mailing address listed below.


Applications must be submitted or postmarked between May 1st and June 30th of each year.  Scholarship applications can be submitted online, emailed, or printed and mailed. Please send all supporting documents to 

Or by mail:

Missouri Library Association c/o Amigos Library Services

1190 Meramec Station Road, Suite 207

Ballwin, MO 63021-6902

Finalists will be interviewed using a common list of questions, which will be provided in advance. Applications must be sent or postmarked between May 1 and June 30 of each year. MLA will notify the scholarship winner by August 31, and the award will be mailed within two weeks of notificaiton. 

If no applicant meets the scholarship criteria or deadlines, the Bohley Scholarship will not be awarded that year.


The MLA Executive Board voted in 1992 to establish the Scholarship to honor Ronald G. Bohley, a librarian who was respected by his colleagues and friends for his exemplary professional standards and for his lifelong pursuit of library cooperation. Ron Bohley served as Direct of the Curtis Laws Wilson Library at the University of Missouri-Rolla from 1972 until his death in 1991. He also served several terms as Board President of the Missouri Library Network Corporation and was President of the Missouri Library Association for 1989-1990. The first Bohley Scholarship was awarded in August 1995. 

 2022 - Morgan Perry
 2021 - Jennifer Myer
 2020 - Not Awarded
 2019 - Brent Sweany, UMKC Libraries
 2018 - Otter Bowman - Daniel Boone Regional Library
 2017 - Kellie Willis, St. Louis Public Library, SISLT student
 2016 - Allison Repking, Ferguson Public Library
 2015 - Jack Meyer - University of Missouri - SISLT student
 2014 - Kelly Anders, University of Missouri - Columbia SISLT student
 2013 - Cynthia Stewart Grant, Mid-Continent Public Library
 2012 - Michelle N. Adkins, St. Louis County Library
 2011 - Nadia Ghasedi
 2010 - Rebecca van Kniest
 2009 - Not Awarded
 2008 - Karen Moore, MCPL-Blue Springs Branch
 2007 - Anna Foote, Johnson County (KS) Library
 2006 - Heather Bennis, St. Charles City-County Library District
 2005 - Jessica Alexander-East, Springfield Greene County Library
 2004 - Jacque Gage, Barton County Public Library
 2003 - Hilary Davis
 2002 - Joy Wright
 2001 - Laura Vinograd
 2000 - Elly Lensch
 1999 - Linda Creibaum, Soutwest Baptist University Library
 1998 - Nancy Campbell, McDonald County Library
 1997 - Linda Railsback, MCPL-Boardwalk Branch
 1996 - Theresa Robben, University of Missouri - Columbia SISLT student
 1995 - Jack Neeley, University of Missouri - Columbia SISLT student (1st year of the award)


Follow us on social media:

State Partner for Missouri

MLA is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

1190 Meramec Station Rd. Ste 207

Ballwin, MO 63021

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software